My Diaryland

5:48 p.m. - 2024-02-11
What wanton liars love makes of us

It was one AM this morning before I finished all my weekly big washing and chores. I slept till one PM today. Sunday brunch of scrambled eggs, smoked Scottish salmon, finely grated west country cheddar all served on hot buttered toast is my usual Sunday extravagance, and the only meal of the day on Sundays. There may be some super noodles later tonight. We shall see.

I cosied up on the sofa, still in my dressing gown and watched the movie The Horse Whisperer. First wife always had a thing for Bob Redford, well most women do if the truth be told and as he directed this movie, he definitely made sure his character Tom Booker had that swoon factor for the ladies. On the other hand, I always had a thing for Kristin Scott Thomas and it was a movie we often watched together and both enjoyed.

I couldn't help be reminded of Marion while watching this movie. KST's auburn coloured hair was slightly shorter and the lighting ambience of the movie made her eyes look almost green. There were similar mannerisms and facial expressions, both women of elegance and sometimes despair. It fairly warmed me up on a cold Sunday afternoon. It's a great movie and even a very young Scarlett Johansson turns in a great performance.

I guess what I took from the movie was that we don't always ask to fall in love, sometimes it just happens and sometimes being in love won't make everything right. That doesn't mean we stop loving the people we fall in love with. Sometimes taking the pain of loss at the start when there is still love is better than when it all goes sour at the end. In doing so, we at least keep a fond memory of our past loves.

Favourite quote from the movie was made by Bob Redford's character Tom Booker about how he fell in love with his wife and she with him. Only afterwards did they realise that they wanted different things in life. Eventually, they went their seperate ways even though they still loved each other.

I didn’t know that it was right to love her, I just loved her.

Amen to that.

 

 

previous - next - latest - archive - contact - Diaryland

00

Dream A Little Dream Of Me

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!