My Diaryland

12:22 p.m. - 2024-02-10
Old drummers never die

M has weddings on her mind and in an unusual moment she started messaging me after the 10 pm do not disturb watershed we both observe stringently on our phones. Needless to say, I had an early night and never saw her messages until today. I've been invited out to dinner to meet the parents etc and that means her boo's folks, and Victoria with her latest squeeze. I have officially been bestowed with the honour of giving M away at the altar. Her dad has been missing in action for many years and there is no love lost between them.

I recall writing an entry about M's family history over a year ago and its been about the same amount of time since I've had any contact with Victoria. I don't enjoy these type of social get togethers. Victoria is the only one out of the guest list I know, and she understands my relationship with M very well. I'm unsure what the other's will think of me. It could also be a case of imposter syndrome rearing its ugly head. I’d also rather not be giving M away. I can’t help but feel that choosing me to do so is awash with symbolism. We’ve shared so much together and I realised from the start that it would always be difficult letting go of her. I’ll always be here for her as long as I live. I’m sure she understands that.

The big news today is that our drummer Mike has announced he will be hanging up his sticks for good at the end of this year. He has been the rock steady force in our main gigging band for five years and as a bass player, Ive found him a joy to gig with. He's a proper drummer in my opinion and that makes my job so much easier. We work well together and dare I say we have a good lock-in and understanding of each other's styles. We both compliment each other well.

I know he has his reasons for retiring from the live circuit. Age, health, and just the hassle of travelling to gigs and lugging a drum kit around all factor in to his decision. It's like anything in life, if it becomes nothing more than a chore and the passion and energy have gone, its better getting out while you can. Too many old drummers end up keeling over at live shows and Mike would be the first to admit playing a three hour gig is nearly killing him these days. He is a smart drummer, and he knows when its time to quit.

I’m going to keep playing as long as I can. I quite like the idea of going out in a blaze of glory while performing, whether that’s playing my bass or doing something else I’m very fond of. There is still a bit of the bad boy bassist in me and I know my passions in life. Everyone should know their passions, I mean if you don't how can you live your best life? I intend to indulge myself in my own passions for as long as I am able to do so.

 

 

previous - next - latest - archive - contact - Diaryland

00

Dream A Little Dream Of Me

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!