My Diaryland

7:02 p.m. - 2024-04-14
Hannah and the funk groove in G

Before you read any further, you need to right click and open up a new private tab to here, turn on your speakers and then continue reading this update. While you are setting that up, I must clear up something where I may have given the impression that all drummers, yes those lovable girl and guy beatboxes who keep time for all of our favourite music, are heartbreakers. This is not so, and the vast majority are nice folks. In fact, statistically speaking, you are ten times more likely to have your heart broken by a bass player. That's just the way it is. Saying that, all bass players, girls and guys alike aren't tarred with the same heartbreaker brush.

Well, now that is all cleared up, and continuing on the theme of drummers, my guest last night Hannah who came over to do a wee business deal with me was actually a drummer. A very nice one at that. By now you should be feeling your body wants to move to the track you are listening to. If you don't feel it, then it's possible you may have no soul. Or at least, you may not understand the Funk. Hannah did, and if you can picture the scene where I am sitting cross legged on the floor with my bass strapped on and plugged in to the item I was trying to sell her, laying down some funky bass chops in the key of G while Hannah is sitting on my sofa, chair-dancing to the groove. The only thing you won't be able to appreciate is just how good my bass groove was. This went on for a full eight bars until I realised I was deliberately showing off. It was a done deal by the fourth bar when Hannah said that sounds amazing, I'll buy it from you. I played the other four bars as I was enjoying watching her chair dancing, her hand moves in particular were very fluid, and expressive.

When I stopped she said " Aww, don't stop, I was really enjoying that" and we both laughed. I'm sure I've heard that line from a lady before at some point in my life, and I don't think I was playing my bass at the time.

Anyhoo!

It was only when she left that I realised we had been chatting away for two hours. These sort of demo deals are usually done and dusted in fifteen minutes. She was lovely though, and I found myself going on line after she had gone and looking up her FB profile. I never do that. She was very chatty and told me all about herself. Divorced, with two sons age 16 and 14. Moved out to the country during the pandemic and is renovating a farm house she bought. Her job is a structural engineer with a well known construction company and her eldest son was learning to play bass hence the deal I put together for her.

This morning I realised she had sent me an FB message thanking me for last night, and I thought that particularly sweet of her. I crammed in two more business deals this morning, while collecting some new project work and I was spent by midday. I had to go rest for a while as this sore throat is persisting and I just feel drained of energy.

The Maid messaged me to say she feels dreadful and won't call tonight because she can hardly speak. I replied in kind to say the same and we will catch up early in the week. I've kinda missed her more than usual and think I'm suffering withdrawal symptoms from her, as well as this lurgy thats draining me of energy. For a couple of hours at least last night, I forgot my aches and pains and enjoyed the company of a fellow musician who understood grooves, the funk, and who was a great chair dancer. I'll take these little gems as they happen in life and enjoy every minute of musical fun to the fullest extent, even if itโ€™s in the company of a drummer ๐Ÿ˜‰

ย 

ย 

previous - next - latest - archive - contact - Diaryland

00

Dream A Little Dream Of Me

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!