My Diaryland

11:19 p.m. - 2024-02-29
The truth will shine and not your hair

Most of today's notable events happened between 7pm and 8pm this evening. Everyone must have just had their dinner and were sending messages and making calls before settling in for the evening. She called and asked me what I thought about trying out a hair dye. She would do it for me and trim it at the same time as it’s getting unruly and long again. What the hell. I said yes, as long as I could have it coloured the same as hers, a deep shade of auburn.

Hair or sometimes lack of it on our heads can tell a lot about us and even baldies can exude a certain personal aura and style without hair. Hair up is often for formal and business like moments. Hair down for informal or showing confidence in who we are. Neat and short is a statement of control. Exuberant bangs or fringes a sense of the stylish and willingness to spend more time in front of the mirror. And me, Mr. Unruly mop of greying red/brown hair. what is my statement?

That's a good question. I've never been conscious of having a particular hair style I preferred. John Taylor of Duran Duran was my role model in my late teens and early twenties. Big hair basically. I went through a skinhead and black hoodie phase in my thirties when I was a bad boy bass player. People used to see me coming along the sidewalk and change to the opposite side of the road to avoid me. I never realised how menacing I must have looked. A six foot four skinhead dressed in black, Converse, baggies and a serious look on my face. If i'd taken the time to look in the mirror I'd probably have scared myself half to death.

So, it might be a Clairol Deep Auburn or she says Garnier have some good shades. She gets all defensive when I ask her what she uses. You don't ask a girl if she dyes her hair she says. These are the questions you learn not to ask as you get older. Ok, as long as I don't end up looking like Stacey Dooley I'm going to give it a go. I wish I hadn't agreed to this attempt to cheat getting older but I'll give anything a go at least once. She says I could also have a glossing(?) whatever that is. Help!

A Facetime call with M happened as I was out in the car. I stopped driving to take it of course. Lunch is on again for this Saturday and she tells me more about the wedding arrangements. She wants me to be part of the pre-wedding get-together so I'm booked into this five star hotel for the night before the wedding day and on the wedding night. I'm not allowed to bring a partner. It's immediate family and super friends only. Victoria is apparently single again, fed up with men and also staying the two nights. I wonder if she will be swinging back Lyndsey's way? There will be a post wedding rave on the Saturday after the wedding day. I can bring a partner to that as it will be a hard core party/dance floor affair where drink will be flowing all night and there are already potentially 100+ invitees.

The Jam Social might be on. I'll find out tomorrow. The gig is also on for Saturday with the main band. I'll need to do some pre-gig prep for that tomorrow.

I just remembered a conversation I had with my friend Geneva last year about hair and dating. She helped me write my dating profile back then and I know for a fact she has been dyeing her hair since her early forties. Her natural colour is black as she is of Italian descent. It was actually me who first noticed her grey roots peeping through as being 6 foot 1 tall herself, I was the only person she knew who was taller than her and could see the top of her head.

Anyway, after my dating profile went live and I started to recieve regular matches, I soon noticed about 90% of all the ladies had blonde or light coloured hair. Where are all the brunettes I asked Geneva? Are they all settled down or snapped up and do blondes perhaps have more fun but never find love or are seen as potential long term partners? Geneva said it wasn't that at all. The reason she said was simple. For so many women of a certain age, its easier to hide their grey roots with a lighter coloured hair dye than if they used a darker one. They don't need to dye quite as often. Hmmmm.

 

 

previous - next - latest - archive - contact - Diaryland

00

Dream A Little Dream Of Me

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!