My Diaryland

2:22 p.m. - 2024-02-18
A Thursday in 2025

I had to get up early on Saturday when I remembered I'd scheduled an appointment to collect my new glasses from my local optician's shop. They are very good compared to the usual cheapo one's I've been using from Boots. In fact, it's almost a high definition experience when reading now.

They are also much more comfortable to wear and they make me look slightly more dare I say intelligent? I'll take that as an unexpected bonus. A more intelligent looking bass player...now that's something that i'll have to give some thought to. I'm also slightly worried that the ladies may start to think " I wonder what he looks like without his glasses on" instead of "I wonder what he looks like without his bass strapped on" all because of a smart pair of bins. I'll nip that train of thought in the bud swiftly before I dig myself a hole I can't get out of.

M called me to talk about her wedding plans. She had visited the place she wanted to have her wedding reception a few days ago and it's now provisionally booked for a Thursday during summer 2025. It will be right in the middle of British Summertime. Apparently it's very difficult at the moment to find anywhere to have a lavish wedding reception because of the high demand for wedding ceremonies.

There was an unprecedented 24% increase in weddings registered in Scotland last year, and those mischievous millennials are snapping up bookings everywhere. The average age to enter into wedded bliss is around 34 years old, so it's actually coming down UK wise where it had been creeping up for a while. Experts believe the pandemic has swayed many people's plans to wait until their early forties to marry mainly due to career choices. The fact that the world is on fire may also have something to do with it. As the saying goes, " the best time for new beginnings is always now."

M will be bucking that age trend as she will still be in her twenties when her knot is tied. I've been given orders to start shaping up as she doesn't want to be given away by a portly person. The photo's will have to look good she said. I'm sure I'll get a few more cakes in me between now and then, but I should take her seriously as I know getting in shape will be good for me as well as how the wedding photos turn out.

I slept in the other bedroom last night to try and stop ending up on the wrong side of the bed. It's a much firmer and newer bed. The change seemed to work as I conked out and woke up earlier feeling more rested and on the correct side of the bed. I didn't dream anything that I can recall in any detail or significance. So perhaps there is a trade off between dreams and restfulness?

I'll be sleeping over at Marion's for the next couple of nights during my visit and I always sleep well with her around. There is perhaps a possibility that all of this bed hopping is affecting my sleep patterns. I'll have slept in three different beds in the last seven days. That hasn't happened in many years when for a time in my life the madness had consumed me, and I rarely ever slept in my own bed for weeks on end. I'm glad that is all in the past, those were most definitely not the best of times when I had more nightmares than dreams.


 

 

previous - next - latest - archive - contact - Diaryland

00

Dream A Little Dream Of Me

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!